Engage Cuba Applauds Formation of Bipartisan Congressional Cuba Working Group

WASHINGTON – Today, the U.S. House of Representatives announced the formation of a bipartisan Cuba Working Group, the first of its kind since the re-engagement of U.S.-Cuba relations one year ago. The diverse group of members, ranging from Democratic leadership to conservative leaders on the Committees of Foreign Affairs and Agriculture, are united in their support to reshape U.S.-Cuba policy and end the Cuban embargo. In a letter to House leadership announcing the group’s creation, the 10 Members of Congress state that current policy “harm[s] U.S. competitiveness in the Cuban market and den[ies] Americans their right to travel freely.”
Following today’s announcement of the bipartisan working group, James Williams, President of Engage Cuba, issued the following statement:

"The creation of the bipartisan Congressional Cuba Working Group sends a clear signal that politics in Washington are shifting quickly.  Engage Cuba is proud to support these Members of Congress who represent an array of interests: from rice to poultry to manufacturing and tourism. They understand that their constituents want us to get beyond 50 years of failure, and are united in shaping a new policy that is in our national interest."
The inaugural 10 members of the Congressional Cuba Working Group are:
·         Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
·         Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX)
·         Rep. Reid Ribble (R-WI)
·         Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA)
·         Rep. Tom Emmer (R-MN)
·         Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-ND)
·         Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
·         Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR)
·         Rep. Sam Farr (D-CA)
·         Rep. Kathy Castor (D-FL)