The Agricultural Export Expansion Act of 2015



In the Senate: Lead co-sponsors are Sens. John Boozman (R-AR) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND). The bill lifts the ban on private banks and companies from offering credit for agricultural exports to Cuba, and help level the playing field for U.S. farmers and exporters.

In the House: Lead co-sponsors are Representative Rick Crawford (AR-1), House Agriculture Committee Chairman Michael Conaway (TX-11), and Representative Ted Poe (TX-2). The bill would repeal restrictions on export financing and give producers access to Department of Agriculture marketing programs that help the US compete in foreign markets. Further, this legislation enables limited American investment in Cuban agribusinesses, as long as US regulators certify the entity is privately-owned and not controlled by the Government of Cuba, or its agents.